Version française English Version Deutsche Fassung


Origin of The Project

I wanted to build a greenhouse in which I could stand up, but without damaging the landscape with a plastic tunnel. I only had short pieces of wood (690 mm) recycled from scrap pallets. How does one build a big structure with short pieces?

Although it uses more materials than a classical structure, the geodesic solution was chosen based on this limitation.

2V and 3V Structures

For a garden greenhouse, a 2V or 3V structure is good enough. For a given length of strut, 3V structure allows a bigger and stronger construction, but it requires far more materials and work than a 2V, 65 struts for a 2V-half-dome against 165 struts for a 3V.

2V
2V Structure
3V
3V Structure

The Prototype

Since I could not evaluate the strength of the structure, nor the precision required, I started with a small 2V-structure model.

Small geodesic dome
Prototype of 2V Geodesic Dome

The Greenhouse

2V or 3V topology?

City's regulations on construction permits not being applicable to building surface smaller than 5 m², 2V topology appeared good enough. I only raised the half-dome to get more height without increasing the surface.

Drawing of raised half-dome
Raised Geodesic Dome

Execution

Geodesic dome under construction
Greenhouse under Construction
Finished structure
Finished Wood Structure
Finished greenhouse
Finished Greenhouse

Version française English Version Deutsche Fassung


Origine

Je voulais fabriquer une serre dans laquelle je puisse tenir debout, mais sans abîmer le paysage avec un tunnel en plastique. Je ne disposais que de petits morceaux de bois (690 mm) récupérés sur les palettes. Comment construire une grande structure avec des petites longueurs ?

Bien qu'elle consomme plus de matériaux qu'une structure classique, la solution géodésique s'est imposée de cette fa├žon.

Structures 2V et 3V

Pour une serre de jardin, une structure 2V ou 3V est suffisante. A longueur de barre identique, la structure 3V permet de faire une structure plus grande et plus solide, mais elle demande beaucoup plus de matériaux et de travail, 65 barres pour une demi-sphère 2V contre 165 barres pour une structure 3V.

2V
Structure 2V
3V
Structure 3V

Le prototype

Comme je n'arrivais à estimer ni la solidité de la structure, ni la précision nécessaire, j'ai commencé par réaliser un modèle plus petit avec une structure 2V.

Petite géode
Prototype de géode 2V

La serre

Topologie 2V ou 3V ?

La règlementation municipale sur les permis de construire ne s'appliquant pas pour les constructions de moins de 5 m², la topologie 2V s'est avérée suffisante. J'ai seulement surélevé la demi-sphère pour gagner en hauteur sans augmenter la surface au sol.

Dessin de géode surélevée
Géode surélevée

Réalisation

Géode en construction
Serre en construction
Structure terminée
Structure en bois terminée
Serre couverte
Serre terminée